A Cup Half Full

The avid readers of my blog will not have forgotten that I promised to make my next post slightly  more optimistic than the last which centered around the idea that life lacks meaning. This is not hard.

You have all, I am sure, spent two long weeks waiting for a post full of butterflies and unicorns, titled ‘A Cup Half Full’. As promised, here are some butterflies and unicorns to fill my quota:-

half full1 half full3

half full4 half full2

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And now for the real treat…here is a unifly, sometimes known as a buttercorn:-

half full5

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

There are two types of people in this world, supposedly. There are the cup half fulls and the cup half emptys.

I’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out which category I slot into. Perhaps, my whole quater-life crisis that I keep banging on about, was actually prompted, not by the fact that I’ve finished uni and am trying to figure out what to do with my life, but instead because I haven’t yet been able to define myself as either a half full or a half empty. At the moment I am a liminal being.

.

However, I had a recent epiphany which, I am sure, is going to change the world…

.

.

The ‘cup half full’ piece of wisdom is bullshit.

.

Innovative and outrageous, right?

I’ve recently realised that whether the cup is half full or half empty simply depends on what was in the bloody cup when it was given to you. This theory is quite complicated and advanced, do try to keep up.

When I went for cocktails recently . . .

half full6

I just put this in here to demonstrate that I do have a life outside of this blog and wallowing in my unemployment

When the bartender handed over these cocktails, the glasses were very much full. A couple of minutes (i.e. seconds) later when I’ d drunk most of mine, the glass was then half empty.

When I found an empty water bottle in my room and filled it halfway to the top, it was half full, because it had been empty when I found it.

(That never actually happened, I was using it as a hypothetical example, and don’t really understand why anyone would only fill their water bottle halfway).

.

.

half full8 half full9.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Essentially, what I am saying is that optimism depends on the situation.

Time for another example, and this one isn’t hypothetical. To a person who has a full time job and a regular salary, working for free for two weeks would be a low prospect and substantially disheartening. To a person (and I mean me) who has no job and no regular salary, sharing my vast levels of expertise and experience for two weeks, for free, is promising because before I had even less.

.

.

Basically, I don’t know about you, but I am neither a half full nor a half empty because . . . and here comes the real shocker . . . there are not only two types of people in the world.

Now here is a happy lamb

A happy sheep

Leave a Reply

